What is the Student Trustee?

In addition to the five elected Trustees of the Board of Trustees for the Foothill-De Anza Community College District, there is one Student Trustee from each college. Following procedures prescribed by the Board, the Student Trustees will be chosen by the students enrolled in the colleges. The term of the Student Trustees will be one year commencing in June.

The Student Trustees are seated with the elected trustees at all public meetings of the Board and will be recognized at those meetings as full members of the Board for the purpose of questioning witnesses, discussing issues and making and seconding motions.

The Student Trustees are entitled to an advisory vote. If a Student Trustee wishes to cast an advisory vote, it shall be taken prior to the Board’s vote. Furthermore, the Student Trustees will receive all material presented to the publicly elected trustees, except material that relates to matters considered in closed session.

FHDA Board Policy 2015 "Student Members"

FHDA Administrative Procedure 2105 "Student Trustee Selection Procedures"

CA Education Code Section 72023.5

Javier Gomez Tagle
Student Trustee

Javier Gomez Tagle

Gomez Tagle is De Anza College's elected student representative on the Board of Trustees for the 2023-24 academic year. He is a first-year student majoring in computer science, and he also pursues a passion in cello performance. Gomez Tagle sits in the De Anza Student Government senate as a member of the Finance and Legislative Affairs committees and is a voting member of De Anza's Resource Allocation and Program Planning Committee. Being an individual who strives to give students their best quality of campus life, Gomez Tagle is driven to help students with their needs. As De Anza's student trustee, Gomez Tagle will help the De Anza student body be heard and support them at the district level. Contact Gomez Tagle at dastudenttrustee@fhda.edu or through the Chancellor's Office at (650) 949-6100.


Back to Top